Advisory Board

Dr. Dave Baker, Dr. Rem Confesor, Dr. Laura Johnson, Dr. Ken Krieger – Heidelberg University – National Center for Water Quality Research. Dr. Baker and his staff have worked with the IPM Institute to conduct APEX mapping of the Sandusky watershed. Continued inputs from the staff will continue to direct our efforts and target our focus areas.

Dale Bartholomew – Manager, Growmark FS, LLC., Caledonia, NY. Bartholomew is a member of the New York State Agri Business Association and serves on the BOCES Ag Curriculum Advisory committee. Bartholomew has worked in ag retail for 33 years and became a CCA in 1997.

Brian Brandt – Director, Agricultural Conservation Innovations Center – American Farmland Trust. Brandt works with Agflex Inc. on the BMP Challenge project. Since joining American Farmland Trust in 1999, Brandt has played an integral role in a multi-disciplinary effort to develop innovative risk management tools that help farmers increase the adoption of BMPs for water quality. Working with partners in Minnesota, Brandt is leading efforts to develop the first multiple credit ecosystem services market in the nation. He has also played a principal role in developing other risk management strategies for farmers using Integrated Pest Management (IPM). A part-time farmer, Brandt grew up on a hog and cash-grain farm in Ohio and graduated from The Ohio State University with a B.S. in agronomy.

Cindy Brookes – Watershed Specialist, Sandusky River Watershed Coalition. She is President of the Ohio Watershed Professionals, on the Advisory Council Member at Heidelberg University National Center for Water Quality Research. Provides experience from work with watershed groups.

Heidi Petersen – Phosphorus Program Director, The International Plant Nutrition Institute. Heidi has a strong background in watershed nutrient management and has represented the fertilizer industry on a number of technical advisory committees providing information regarding 4R Nutrient Stewardship for reducing nutrient losses to water resources.

John Crumrine – Retired NRCS. Worked with the National Center of Water Quality Research to develop a toolbox to address phosphorus loading issues. His work experience with NRCS helps us understand their needs and opportunities to enhance conservation programs.

Judy Derricks – Wisconsin State Resource Conservationist for USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS) in Madison, WI. Derricks has been with NRCS for 27 years, with much of that time spent working with landowners in local NRCS field offices across the state. Derricks also taught agriculture for seven years and was active as a dairy farmer throughout much of her career. She is a graduate of the University of Wisconsin-Madison in agricultural education.

Kevin Elder – Chief, Ohio Department of Agriculture Livestock Permitting. Involved in implementing regulations, developing voluntary measures that the Ohio Dept. of Ag can promote, is working across state lines with people in other organizations, will help us network with his peers in other states.

Chris Henney – President & CEO, of Ohio Agri-Business Association. Helps us extend our communication network to retailers all over Ohio. Provides important perspective of for policy development and ag retailer needs.

Jim Hergott – Executive Director of Saginaw Bay Resource, Conservation & Development (RC&D). RC&D works to advance conservation and utilization of natural resources, better economic activity, and improve the standard of living in specified RC&D sites. The current program focuses on enhanced quality of life through natural resources conservation and community progress that leads to sustainability.

Greg LaBarge – Agronomy Field Specialist, Ohio State University Extension. Has worked in Northwest Ohio with the agriculture community since 1988 with Ohio State University Extension primarily with crop production and economics. LaBarge provides research experience and direction for best management practices.

Jim Lake – Retired Indiana Department of Agriculture. Lake currently serves as a Program Consultant for the 4R Nutrient Stewardship Certification Program. His previous experience in Indiana agriculture and conservation, and knowledge of 4R certification requirements will help us develop our software interface.

Katie McKibben – Ohio EPA.

Lara Moody – Director of Stewardship and Sustainability, The Fertilizer Institute. Lara has played an integral role in the expansion of the 4R’s across the United States and within the WLEB. Her responsibilities for developing and directing TFI’s outreach programs will help us stay up-to-date with ongoing projects.

Sally Flis – Director of Agronomy, The Fertilizer Institute. Sally works with the 4R Nutrient Stewardship programs to help increase the science base and understanding of on-farm practice implementation. She is also involved in providing science support for state and national nutrient policy issues.

Lee Orians – Agronomist, Heritage Cooperative. Orians has worked with us closely in the Sandusky River watershed. He can provide us with important input on ag software and agricultural retailers standpoints.

Mark Smith – State Resource Conservationist, Ohio Natural Resources Conservation Service. Provides input on current federal programs. Provides training and direction on nutrient management planning. Will provide important input for meeting NRCS standards and specifications for best management practices.

Luther Smith – Director of Certification Programs, American Society of Agronomy. Smith can help us expand our trainings to Certified Crop Advisers. His network and roles will allow us to effectively distribute information and gain perspective from CCA’s.

Karen Scanlon – Vice President, Sustainability. Karen works at Dairy Management, Inc., to help support sustainability for the U.S. dairy industry. Karen earned a master’s degree in natural resources management from Ohio State University and a B.S. in journalism from the University of Florida.

Ann Sorensen – Director of Research, American Farmland Trust. Sorensen will provide experience and direction from other GIS and water quality projects. She conducts academic research that underlies the policy work of American Farmland Trust. Since joining the staff in 1992, the research she oversees has guided work on four farm bills and supported other legislative efforts by American Farmland Trust. She previously directed American Farmland Trust’s Center for Agriculture in the Environment. Sorensen holds a B.A. from the University of California at Santa Cruz and a Ph.D. from the University of California at Berkeley.

Carrie Vollmer-Sanders – Western Lake Erie Basin Project Director, The Nature Conservancy; and Council Chairwoman for the Nutrient Stewardship Council, governing body of the 4R Nutrient Stewardship Certification Program. Will be able to provide input on the needs and direction of the 4R program moving forward.

Sara Walling – Agriculture Institute Director at the University of Wisconsin Extension Cooperative Extension. Walling holds an M.S. in land rehabilitation, invasive species, soil ecology from Montana State University – Bozeman.

Chad Watts – Previous Project Director, Conservation Technology Initiative Center. Chad’s knowledge of implementation of BMP’s provides us with a skill set on diverse new conservation practices. He received a B.S. in natural resources and environmental science from Purdue University. Watts is working with several partners to implement agricultural conservation projects in both the Mississippi River Basin and the Great Lakes.

Share Button